Looking around me

There’s a woman in her fifties walking right past me for the second time. She is wearing black pants, a flowery blouse, trendy thick glasses and funky short hair.

There’s a young asian man lying sprawled on a white leather couch, rolling himself over every few minutes, seemingly oblivious to the rest of the world.

There’s a family composed of a big silent woman, a man wearing sandals with almost no hair who has used at least four different languages on his mobile phone in the last half an hour, and three little girls, all of them blond, dressed in pure white and wearing hair bands.

There’s a man in a suit looking bossy, slowly walking in straight lines from one place to the next, sometimes hesitating.

There’s two men in their twenties sitting together and chatting. A taxi pulls over and they stand up. As they walk away one holds the hand of the other. This gives him a glare and shakes his hand free.

There’s a covered black piano and a gurgling fountain. A basketball player. A woman with a kitten.

4 Responses to “Looking around me”


  1. 1 fernan 8 August 2007 at 6:41

    Life sweet life! It feels good when you can enjoy living…
    or second living, don’t you think so?

  2. 2 cesargon 8 August 2007 at 16:26

    I am intrigued by your interpretation of my post. Although I admit that I gave it some structure and rythm to make it slightly poetic, it describes the real-life surroundings that I could observe for a couple of hours while waiting at a hotel lobby last month. All real life, no second life here.

  3. 3 fernandito 9 August 2007 at 8:17

    Ok, I think you’ve taken my comment too strictly. I knew from the very beginning that you were talking about real life, but the “second living” stuff was just a little blink to you…
    because in some manner I think that life is always life, real or second I mean, like that song: “life is life! and it’s great to feel everything around you when you are living in any circumstances… anyway, probably I’m startng to be delirious now, I better stop here. Good bye and have my best wishes!

  4. 4 cesargon 9 August 2007 at 13:37

    Fair enough then 😉


Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter

Archives


