Bullfights

I am a Spaniard but I don’t like bullfights. Not only I don’t like them; I think they should disappear, as public executions in the town square have disappeared from most developed countries.

Bullfights have declined in popularity and frequency quite a lot in the last few decades, fortunately. However, they seem to move enough amounts of money as to keep working. There is a segment of the population who like and support them, too.

I guess people also supported and liked public executions in the town square a few centuries ago. But, eventually, they died or just shut up. Laws against barbaric practices were passed and the “tradition” thus forgotten. It would be nice to see bullfighting go the same way: forbidden by law and forgotten by people.

Some people would disagree with me arguing that bullfighting is a tradition, part of their identity, and abolishing it would kill their roots and break their connection to the community. Or something like that. Well, I guess that abolishing public executions also broke the tradition and killed some roots. It’d better.

I am not going to enumerate here the reasons why I think like this; plenty of details have been described elsewhere. If you think like me and can read/write Spanish, drop by this web site and post something.

3 Responses to “Bullfights”


  1. 1 Nick 17 August 2006 at 11:57

    If a man has the desire to kill a bull then he should do it bare handed.

  2. 2 Pablo Fernando Sanchez 2 September 2006 at 20:22

    I understand bullfights as a primitive way some people need to demostrate they are men. Of course, that has nothing to do with being a man, but being a primitive sadist.

  3. 3 swedesinspain 21 October 2010 at 20:43

    One thing people visiting Spain should understand is also that the mentality “I just want to see it once” is a part of why it´s still existing. It is a huge industry…and of course like in any case, money plays a big role in its maintenance.


Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter

Archives


