A great tit!

Life goes on here at Ibarrondo Etxea.

But this morning, soon after I got up, I opened the window that looks over the balcony and there it was, a great tit hanging upside down from the handrail, pecking at the gossamer and cobwebs. My heart stopped for a few moments, I promise, while I tried to decide whether to keep holding my breath to avoid scaring the little creature or to move a little bit to get a better perspective. I think it was only a few seconds until it flew away, but, after four years without sighting one, it felt almost like the first time.

3 Responses to “A great tit!”


  1. 1 Nick 8 December 2005 at 10:05

    Definitely a good omen!

  2. 2 John 7 January 2006 at 12:46

    It had to be a bird, I couldn’t imagine a breast hanging out in that weather

  3. 3 cesargon 9 January 2006 at 9:47

    I think it was Simon Barnes who used to call great tits “Dolly Partons”. Only guys over 35 will understand.


Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter

Archives


