Leaving Australia

It is official now. Isabel and I will be leaving Australia at the end of the year. We are going back to Spain after three and a half years in Sydney.

I got a very interesting offer from the European Software Institute near Bilbao. I believe it is a nice step forward in my career, and fits pretty well with our intention of leaving Australia. Bilbao is not Galicia, but it is part of the atlantic Spain, so the weather, food, landscape, culture and overall lifestyle are not that different.

Now I need to start organising the move, getting plane tickets, cancelling millions of things here and joining others over there. I hate this, but I am really excited about starting this new stage of our lives.

We will miss some things from Australia, Asian food, professionalism and friends being the hardest to live without. We will try to overcome this by cooking Asian at home, turning a blind eye to others’ inefficiency, and finding a large home so all our Australian friends can come and visit us over there.

0 Responses to “Leaving Australia”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter

Archives


