Relief

It’s been more than a week since we had elections in Galicia. Well, Fraga and his thugs must say goodbye to the power seat since they have been voted out by the people. As El Pais said, the left will govern Galicia for the first time after 24 years of autonomy.

It is hard to explain the relief that I feel. I am not a political person, I mean, I have never worried too much about politics, although I have very clear ideas. I’ve never believed that changing the party in the power affects the average citizen’s life that much, even in Europe, where the differences between parties are huge when compared to the ridiculously close liberal and labour parties of anglosaxon countries. But this time I feel something different. The remnants from the Franco era, as Arturo Ruibal would put it, are leaving us, and I can only feel relief.

0 Responses to “Relief”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter

Archives


