Can’t use encryption on my wireless LAN

I have a 3Com OfficeConnect Wireless 11g Cable/DSL Gateway at home, which acts as main network hub and also as a gateway to the Internet through a separate ADSL modem. It supports both WPA and WEP encryption standards, but both of them are disabled because, as soon as I turn one on (and adjust the laptops’ wireless LAN cards accordingly), something very odd happens: I can still access the Internet (i.e. the gateway routes laptops to the Internet) but computers in my LAN cannot see each other!

I have tried using different configurations for both WPA and WEP but the problem persists. Only when I disable both encryption methods can my laptops see each other in the LAN.

Odd??? I will go on researching.

0 Responses to “Can’t use encryption on my wireless LAN”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter

Archives


